Wine town of Austria

Welcome to Poysdorf

Vino Versum is Poysdorf‘s tourist centre and first point of contact for visitors, offering a broad range of possibilities to experience the universe of grapes, wine and viticulture.

The following pages invite you to experience many facets of the wine town and give you an overview of the variety of restaurants and taverns. Make your choice among a broad range of accommodations – from private guest rooms or a place at the camping site directly by the swimming pond, to upscale comfort rooms and a 4 star hotel – for an enjoyable stay with us.

The WEIN+TRAUBEN Welt is one of the main tourist attractions in Lower Austria. Our pittoresque cellar lanes, the vinyards and all other sights which can also be experienced by tractor cruises, are waiting to be discovered by you! Poysdorf has much to offer for hikers and bikers, too: come and convince yourself!

We look forward to your visit to Poysdorf!
Mayor Thomas Grießl and Vino Versum CEO Susanne Derler, MA

Poysdorf‘s delicious wines are the reason to come, to discover, to stay.

1400 hectar (5.4 square miles) wine growing area , one of the biggest wine producing places in the country and a landscape of hills made of loess and loamy soil, heavy and claggy or light and sandy: this is our wine town
On well-known vineyards called Kirchbergen, Bürsting or Hermannschachern we grow Welschriesling, Riesling and Zweigelt, but also Pinot Blanc or Silvaner. Over 2000 hours of sun per year produce very mature wines, the reliably cold winters also make delicious ice wines.
Salon, Falstaff or Prague Wine Trophy: every year Poysdorf’s wine growers submit their vintage for evaluation by high profile expert panels. And they get more and more prizes and awards for their products.

Weinviertel DAC, the most peppery wine of Austria!

Grüner Veltliner branded as Weinviertel DAC is the most typical wine of the region.DAC stands for typical taste and guaranteed origin of the region. And it keeps its promise: wine lovers are fascinated by the peppery-spicy, fine fruity taste of Weinviertel DAC, which is Poysdorf’s biggest and most successful origin brand in the world of wine.
Read more at www.weinvierteldac.at

Poysdor f ’s City Wine

A special feature of Poysdorf is the selection of one red and one white wine to become the City Wine, representing the quality wines of a particular year. The best of the best vintages are determined every year by blind tasting. Both wines can be tasted and purchased at the respective estates and at Poysdorf Wine Market. You can also order the City Wine at local restaurants.

The secret landmarks of the town

are the cellar lanes. Poysdorf boasts more than 10, and each one has its own distinctive flair. They are interesting sites for guided tours, idyllic places for rest during hikes and walks, pittoresque scenery for events and favoured retreats for wine lovers.

Poysdorf sparkles

What do the Champagne and Poysdorf have in common? Both are situated on the same latitude and offer ideal conditions for producing base wine for interesting sparkling wines by their moderate-cool climate.
Since the middle of the 19th century, the important Austrian wine producers cover large quantities of their wine supply from Weinviertel, three quarters of which come from the Poysdorf region.
Besides Schlumberger, several wine makers from Poysdorf now offer their own local sparkling wines.

Welcome to tasting!

At the Wine Market, all the wines are present: Veltliner, Riesling, Silvaner and Zweigelt. Here, you can taste and purchase more than 300 different wines from 30 Poysdorf wine growers.
Opening hours: all year daily 9 am – 6 pm, March to October 9 am – 7 pm
More information at: www.weinmarkt-poysdorf.at

Poysdorf – culture with great tradition

Since its first documented mention in the year 1194, Poysdorf looks back at an eventful history. Due to its situation at the border to East Europe, the town often became a site for armed conflicts. And wine always played an important role in the course of history. Thus, Poysdorf owns the oldest documented Austrian vineyard Riede Hermannschachern(1338). In the 16th century, the place developed into a market town because trading and selling its wine had brought prosperity and reputation.

The town offers a variety of cultural activities, starting from many cultural monuments such as wayside crosses or chapels , including museums and galleries and leading to a wide range of events all year round.

Poysdorf is the centre of the region Veltlinerland, a retreat along the Weinviertel Way of St. James, a favourite spot for short vacations and starting point for trips to nearby Czech Republic.

The settlement Poysdorf was first mentioned in the register of Klosterneuburg in 1194/1196. A connection of the toponym with the name of the stream Poybach is very likely.

DDue to its situation in a border area, the town was hit by several armed conflicts and hostile invasions. Poysdorf was in the centre of action during the conflicts of Duke Henry II Jasomirgott with Hungary (1176), when Duke Frederick II the Quarrelsome tried to stop the Mongol invasion at the borders of Lower Austria (1226), or when Hungary wanted to reconquer their lost border fortresses in Burgenland (1241/42). The Bohemian kings tried to gain control of the territory on several occasions.

Viticulture is documented since the beginning of the 14th century. The oldest preserved building of the town, the ‘Eisenhuthaus’ was built in the 16th century and has been converted into a welcoming guest house and restaurant by the winemaking family Rieder in 2012.

On May 4, 1582 Emperor Rudolph II conferred market rights to Poysdorf which counted 200 ‘built’ houses and courts and around 1.500 inhabitants at this time.
By defining a couple of ‘wine carriers’ or ‘biblical scouts’ carrying a giant grape as their coat of arms in 1667, Poysdorf illustrated the importance of wine for the marketplace.

In 1639 a firestorm burnt down 170 of 250 houses. Towards the end of the Thirty Years War in 1645, a Swedish vanguard transformed the church, built in 1640, into a fortress. The church’s seat rows are still called ‘riding school’, recalling its use as horse stables.

To prevent Poysdorf from sacking, the inhabitants delivered 1.000 buckets of wine, corn, oat, groceries, carriages, horses and animals for slaughter. In exchange, the town received the writ of protection ’salva guardia’, thus avoiding serious hardship for the population.
In 1645, almost 5.000 people died from the plague.
In 1850, Poysdorf counted 2.327 inhabitants and 382 houses on a surface of 11,85 km².

As of 1888, Poysdorf had a railway station for the local train Enzersdorf at Staatz-Poysdorf, and from 1907 onwards also for the railway line Dobermannsdorf – Poysdorf. The station was closed in 1987.

In 1923, the market town obtained the status of a city.

During World War II, Poysdorf was bombed several times.

In May 1945 the expelled German refugees from South Moravia arrived in Poysdorf and the town came under Soviet occupation in the same year. The last Russian soldier left Lower Austria on September 19, 1955.

In 1952, the co-operative of wine growers from Poysdorf and surroundings was founded.

Since spring of 2007, the wine experience world ‘Vino Versum’ is located at Kellerg‘stetten, attracting many visitors to the Wine Town.

In 2013, Poysdorf was the venue of Lower Austria’s exhibition ‘Bread & Wine’

On April 21, 2014, Poysdorf’s WEIN+TRAUBEN Welt was opened.

Poysdorf in the Middle Age

The largest part of Weinviertel belongs to the Great Moravian Empire which rose at the end of the 8th / beginning of the 9th century and came under Hungarian rule at the beginning of the 10th century. The eastern part of Weinviertel then fell into a vacuum of political powers. Until the middle of the 11th century, during battles against Bohemia and Hungary, it was settled by Bavarians and Franks. Thereafter, the region Weinviertel was integrated into the Margraviate Austria.

The settlement Poysdorf was first mentioned in the register of Klosterneuburg in 1194/1196. A connection of the toponym with the name of the stream Poybach is very likely.

Due to its situation in a border area, the town was hit by several armed conflicts and hostile invasions. Poysdorf was in the centre of action during the conflicts of Duke Henry II Jasomirgott with Hungary (1176), when Duke Frederick II the Quarrelsome tried to stop the Mongol invasion at the borders of Lower Austria (1226), or when Hungary wanted to reconquer their lost border fortresses in Burgenland (1241/42).

Viticulture is documented since the beginning of the 14th century., the first mention of a vineyard was Hermannschachern in 1334.

Renaissance und uprise
The Renaissance changed Poysdorf like no other period before. On May 4, 1582 Emperor Rudolph II conferred market rights to Poysdorf which counted 200 ‘built’ houses and courts and around 1.500 inhabitants at that time. The market privilege allowed the citizen to enact laws, for example the wine order established by the town council in 1584 and 1595. No other wine was allowed to be brought into the town except from the Manor of Liechtenstein.

The culture and trade of wine made Poysdorf wealthy within a short period. A visible sign is the church of Saint John built in 1630ies, exclusively financed by the citizens of Poysdorf.
In 1639 a firestorm burnt down 170 of 250 houses. Towards the end of the Thirty Years War in 1645, a Swedish vanguard transformed the church, built in 1640, into a fortress. The church’s seat rows are still called ‘riding school’, recalling its use as horse stables. To prevent Poysdorf from sacking, the inhabitants delivered 1.000 buckets of wine, corn, oat, groceries, carriages, horses and animals for slaughter. In exchange, the town received the writ of protection ’salva guardia’, thus avoiding serious hardship for the population.

One witness of the wealth of that time are Renaissance textiles, household gear and books from the period around 1650, discovered in Poysdorf in 1883.

In 1657, Emperor Ferdinand III entitled Poysdorf to make a couple of ‘wine carriers’ or ‘biblical scouts’ their coat of arms: an illustration of the importance of wine to the town.

The Baroque Wine Town along Brünner Strasse
Viticulture had played a decisive role for Poysdorf since the Middle Age. It brought wealth to the town. Prestige buildings were erected, such as the Public Hospital (1657/1658) with adjacent Barbara Chapel (1663/1664), the shooting place (1672) and the Capuchin Monastery at Wienertor (1677). The plague column at Dreifaltigkeitsplatz (1715) was donated by citizens and not by aristocrats. Many preserves work of art witness the town’s prosperity during the Baroque Age. Besides viticulture, trade was another reason for Poysdorf’s rise. The road from the capital Vienna to Brünn was and still is an important European route, enabling the trade with Moravia, Silesia, Prussia, the Baltic countries and Russia

The history of modern Brünner Strasse began with Emperor Charles VI in 1729, when the road was improved and expanded and also used for postal transports. From 1709 on, Poysdorf was a postal station. Emperors and kings used this road as well as peasants, traders, beggars, postillions, merchants and soldiers. Next to smiths, saddlers and wainwrights, the inns along the road were the most important infrastructure for travellers.

Poysdorf during period of foundation

When in 1848 revolution broke out in Vienna, a national guard was established in Poysdorf. After the defeat of the revolution, Poysdorf became a district capital, but soon again lost this status to Mistelbach in 1852. Poysdorf then counted 2.327 inhabitants and 382 houses on a surface of 11,85 km².

In 1866, Poysdorf was occupied by 6.000 Prussian soldiers after the battle of Königgrätz. Cholera broke out, claiming hundreds of lives among the population and the troups.

As of 1888, Poysdorf had a railway station for the local train Enzersdorf at Staatz-Poysdorf, and from 1907 onwards also for the railway line Dobermannsdorf – Poysdorf. The station was closed in 1987. Around 1900, the marketplace Poysdorf was the wealthy commercial centre of the region.

Poysdorf and Archaeology

Weinviertel and the region around Poysdorf had a tighter population than average in prehistory and early history which is proven evidence by important excavations in the surroundings from almost all historic periods since the Neolithic Age. Anthropologic marks date back about 7.000 years in history.

The first archaeological excavations were made in 1920. Diggings take place almost every year in the area and often produce interesting results. The most important records are shown at WEIN+TRAUBEN Welt.

The most outstanding among the numerous exhibits is a golden bracteate from a female tumb in the Langobarde cemetery. The original has a diameter of 2,5 to 3 cm and is shown at the Museum of Natural History in Vienna.

Pilgrim station on the Way of Santiago

Poysdorf is located at the Weinviertel Way of Santiago, leading from the holy mountain in Mikulov/Czech Republic across Drasenhofen, Mistelbach, Großrußbach and Stockerau to Mautern at the Danube (162 km). There it connects to the Austrian Way of Santiago along the Danube and to the European route leading to Santiago de Compostela in Spain.

Poysdorf is recommended to rest after a long day’s walk and stay overnight in one of the comfortable accommodations of the town.

More information can be found at www.jakobsweg-weinviertel.at

X

Weinstadt Österreichs

Herzlich Willkommen in Poysdorf

Das Vino Versum ist als touristisches Zentrum Poysdorfs Ihre erste Anlaufstelle und bietet unzählige Möglichkeiten, um Rebe, Traube und Wein auf die Spur zu kommen.

Die folgenden Seiten geben Ihnen Einblicke in das facettenreiche Angebot der Weinstadt sowie einen Überblick über die Vielzahl an Gastronomie-und Heurigenbetrieben. Von der Privatunterkunft oder einem Campingabenteuer direkt am Poysdorfer Badeteich gelegen, über hochwertige Genießerzimmer bis hin zur Unterkunft im 4-Sterne Hotel können Sie aus einer breiten Vielfalt an Unterkunftsmöglichkeiten für jeden Geschmack schöpfen.

Die WEIN+TRAUBEN Welt als eines der NÖ Top Ausflugsziele, unsere malerischen Kellergassen, die Weingärten und Sehenswürdigkeiten, die auch mittels Traktorrundfahrt erkundet werden können, warten darauf, von Ihnen entdeckt zu werden! Auch für Pedalritter und Wanderer hat Poysdorf Vieles zu bieten – überzeugen Sie sich selbst!

Wir freuen uns Sie in Poysdorf begrüßen zu dürfen!
Bgm. Thomas Grießl und Vino Versum GF Andrea Dankelmaier, MA

Poysdorfs köstliche Weine sind der Anlass, zu kommen, zu erleben, zu bleiben.

1400 Hektar Rebfläche, einer der größten Weinorte des Landes und eine Weinhügellandschaft aus Löss- und Lehmböden, von schwer und fett bis leicht und sandig reichend: das ist die Weinstadt.
Auf bekannten Rieden wie Kirchbergen, Bürsting oder Hermannschachern gedeihen Grüner Veltliner, Welschriesling, Riesling und Zweigelt, aber auch weiße Burgundersorten oder der Grüne Sylvaner. Gut 2000 Sonnenstunden im Jahr ermöglichen bestens ausgereifte Weine, die verlässlich kalten Winter darüber hinaus auch köstliche Eisweine.
Salon, Falstaff oder Prague Wine Trophy: Jahr für Jahr reichen Poysdorfer Winzer im Rahmen nationaler und internationaler Bewerbe ihre Weine für die Bewertung durch hochkarätige Jurys ein. Und immer öfters erhalten sie mit ihren Produkten Top-Bewertungen und Auszeichnungen.

Weinviertel DAC, der pfeffrigste Wein Österreichs!

Der Grüne Veltliner ist als Weinviertel DAC der gebietstypische Wein des Weinviertels schlechthin. DAC steht für regionstypischen Geschmack und garantierte Herkunft. Und er hält, was er verspricht: Weingenießer sind vom trockenen, würzig-fruchtigen Geschmacksprofil des Weinviertel DAC begeistert, der Wein ist zudem Poysdorfs größte und erfolgreichste Herkunftsmarke in der Weinwelt.
Mehr dazu auf www.weinvierteldac.at

Poysdorfer Stadtwein

Eine Besonderheit der Weinstadt ist die alljährliche Kür eines Weiß-und eines Rotweines zum Poysdorfer Stadtwein, der repräsentativ für die Qualitätsweine eines Jahrgangs steht. Im Rahmen einer verdeckten Verkostung werden aus den edlen Tropfen die Besten der Besten ausgewählt. Beide Weine können in den jeweiligen Weingütern und im Weinmarkt Poysdorf verkostet und erworben werden. Ebenso wird der Stadtwein in der Poysdorfer Gastronomie angeboten.

Die heimlichen Wahrzeichen der Stadt

sind die Kellergassen. Mehr als 10 kann die Weinstadt aufweisen, und jede davon hat ihren unverwechselbaren Charme. Sie sind interessanter Schauplatz für Führungen, idyllischer Rastplatz für Wanderungen und Radtouren, stimmiger Ort für Veranstaltungen und Rückzugsgebiet für Weingenießer.

Poysdorf prickelt

Was die Champagne und Poysdorf gemeinsam haben? Beide liegen auf demselben Breitengrad und ermöglichen durch das gemäßigt-kühle Klima ideale Voraussetzungen für die Grundweinproduktion interessanter Schaumweine.
Seit Mitte des 19. Jahrhunderts beziehen die großen österreichischen Kellereien ihren Weinbedarf großteils aus dem Weinviertel, drei Viertel davon wiederum kommen aus dem Raum Poysdorf.
Neben Schlumberger bieten mittlerweile auch mehrere Poysdorfer Winzer eigene Winzersekte an.

Willkommen beim Gustieren!

Am Weinmarkt geben sie sich alle ein Stelldichein, die Veltliner, die Rieslinge, die Sylvaner und Zweigelts. Über 300 Weine der 30 Poysdorfer Winzer gibt es hier zum Verkosten und Einkaufen.
Öffnungszeiten: ganzjährig täglich von 9.00 – 18.00 Uhr, März bis Oktober von 9.00 – 19.00 Uhr.
Mehr dazu auf: www.weinmarkt-poysdorf.at

Poysdorf – Kultur mit großer Tradition

Poysdorf blickt seit seiner ersten urkundlichen Nennung 1194 auf bewegte Geschichtstage zurück. Durch die Lage an der Grenze nach Osteuropa wurde die Stadt des Öfteren zum Schauplatz für kriegerische Auseinandersetzungen. Und immer wieder spielte der Wein im Laufe der Geschichte eine wichtige Rolle. So besitzt Poysdorf mit der Riede Hermannschachern die älteste urkundlich erwähnte Weinriede Österreichs (1338). Im 16. Jahrhundert avancierte der Ort deshalb zum Markt, weil er durch Versilbern und Verkauf seines Weines Wohlstand und Ansehen erreicht hatte.

Ein vielfältiges Kulturangebot zeichnet die Stadt aus: begonnen von den zahlreichen Kulturdenkmälern wie Wegkreuze oder Kapellen über Museen und Galerien bis hin zum reichhaltigen Veranstaltungskalender das ganze Jahr über.

Poysdorf ist das Zentrum des Veltlinerlandes, Einkehrstation entlang des Jakobsweges Weinviertel, ein beliebtes Ziel für Kurzurlaube und Ausgangspunkt für Ausflüge in das benachbarte Tschechien.

Eine erste Nennung des Angerdorfes Poysdorf erfolgte 1194/1196 im Klosterneuburger Saalbuch. Ein Zusammenhang des Ortsnamens mit dem Bachnamen „Poybach“ ist anzunehmen.

Da Poysdorf in einem Grenzland lag, trafen den Ort mehrmals kriegerische Verwicklungen und feindliche Einfälle. Ob diese durch die Ungarn während Herzog Heinrich II. Jasomirgott ausgelöst wurden (1176), ob Herzog Friedrich II., der Streitbare, die Mongolen von der Grenze Niederösterreichs abzuhalten versuchte (1226) oder ob die Ungarn ihre verlorenen Grenzfestungen im Burgenland wieder zurückerhalten wollten (1241/42), Poysdorf lag im Kernpunkt des Geschehens.
Immer wieder versuchten Böhmenkönige das Gebiet unter ihre Herrschaft zu bringen.

Seit Beginn des 14. Jahrhunderts wird nachweislich Weinbau betrieben.

Im 16. Jahrhundert entstand das „Eisenhuthaus“ – das älteste erhaltene Gebäude der Weinstadt – erst 2012 wurde es von der Winzerfamilie Rieder in ein einladendes Gastlokal mit Fremdenzimmern umgebaut.
Am 4. Mai 1582 erhob Kaiser Rudolf II. das Dorf Poysdorf, welches zu dieser Zeit 200 „erbaute“ Häuser und Hofstätten und ca. 1500 Einwohner zählte, zum Markt.
1667 bereits wählte der Markt Poysdorf als Wappen und Siegel eine Darstellung, welche die Bedeutung des Weines für den Markt verdeutlichte: Die „Weinträger“ oder „Kundschafter“.
1639 äscherte eine Feuersbrunst 170 der 250 Häuser ein. Während der Endphase des Dreisßigjährigen Krieges, 1645, baute eine Vorhut der Schweden die erst 1640 geweihte Kirche eine Festung aus. Die noch heute „Reitschule“ genannten Sitzreihen erinnern an die Einstellung der Pferde.
Um Poysdorf vor Plünderungen zu bewahren, lieferten die Poysdorfer 1000 Eimer Wein, Korn, Hafer, Lebensmittel, Wagen, Pferde und Schlachtvieh ab. Dafür erhielt der Markt den Schutzbrief „salva quardia“, die Bewohner blieben damit von den gröbsten Schandtaten verschont.
1645 starben etwa 5000 Menschen an der Pest.

1850 zählte Poysdorf 2.327 Einwohner und 382 Häuser auf einer Fläche von 11,85 km².
Ab 1888 war Poysdorf Haltestelle der Lokalbahn Enzersdorf bei Staatz-Poysdorf und ab 1907 auch von der Bahnstrecke Dobermannsdorf – Poysdorf. 1987 wurde die Bahnstation Poysdorf geschlossen.

1923 erfolgte die Erhebung des Marktes zur Stadt.

Während des Zweiten Weltkrieges wurde Poysdorf mehrmals bombardiert.
Im Mai 1945 erreichten die aus ihrer Heimat vertriebenen Südmährer Poysdorf, im selben Jahr geriet die Stadt unter sowjetische Besatzung.
Erst am 19. September 1955 verließ der letzte russische Besatzungssoldat niederösterreichischen Boden.

1952 wurde die „Winzergenossenschaft Poysdorf und Umgebung“ gegründet.

Seit dem Frühjahr 2007 bringt die Wein-Erlebnis-Welt „Vino Versum“ in der Kellerg‘stetten zahlreiche Gäste in die Weinstadt.

2013 war Poysdorf Austragungsort der NÖ Landesausstellung „Brot & Wein“.

Am 21. April 2014 wurde die Poysdorfer „WEIN+TRAUBEN Welt“ eröffnet.

Poysdorf im Mittelalter

Ende des 8./Anfang des 9. Jhts. setzt die Entstehung des Großmährischen Reichs ein, zu dessen Gebiet der Großteil des Weinviertels gehörte. Am Beginn des 10. Jhts. unterlag dieses den Ungarn. Im neuerlichen machtpolitischen Vakuum, das besonders im östlichen Weinviertel herrschte, kam es bis zur Mitte des 11. Jhts. zu einer bayrisch-fränkischen Besiedelungswelle, begleitet von Kämpfen gegen Böhmen und Ungarn. Nach der Mitte des 11. Jhts. wurden die Gebiete im Weinviertel in die Markgrafschaft Österreich eingegliedert.

Eine erste Nennung des Angerdorfes Poysdorf erfolgte 1194/1196 im Klosterneuburger Saalbuch. Ein Zusammenhang des Ortsnamens mit dem Bachnamen „Poybach“ ist anzunehmen.

Da Poysdorf in einem Grenzland lag, trafen den Ort mehrmals kriegerische Verwicklungen und feindliche Einfälle. Ob diese durch die Ungarn während Herzog Heinrich II. Jasomirgott ausgelöst wurden (1176), ob Herzog Friedrich II., der Streitbare, die Mongolen von der Grenze Niederösterreichs abzuhalten versuchte (1226) oder ob die Ungarn ihre verlorenen Grenzfestungen im Burgenland wieder zurückerhalten wollten (1241/42), der Raum Poysdorf war davon betroffen.

Seit Beginn des 14. Jahrhunderts wird nachweislich Weinbau betrieben, die erste Nennung einer Riede ist der „Hermannschachen“ im Jahre 1334.

Renaissance und Aufstieg
Die Zeit der Renaissance veränderte Poysdorf wie keine Epoche zuvor. Am 4. Mai 1582 erhob Kaiser Rudolf II. das Dorf Poysdorf, welches zu dieser Zeit 200 „erbaute“ Häuser und Hofstätten und ca. 1500 Einwohner zählte, zum Markt. Das Marktprivileg gestatten den Bürgern Gesetze zu erlassen. So wird 1584 und 1595 eine eigene Weinordnung vom Poysdorf Rat erlassen. Niemand, mit Ausnahme der Herrschaft Liechtenstein, darf Wein in den Poysdorfer Burgfried bringen.

Der Anbau und Handel mit Wein machte den Markt in kurzer Zeit sehr wohlhabend. Sichtbarstes Zeichen dafür ist die in den 1630er Jahren erbaute Pfarrkirche St. Johannes – finanziert ausschließlich von den Poysdorfer Bürgern.
1639 äscherte eine Feuersbrunst 170 der 250 Häuser ein. Während der Endphase des Dreisßigjährigen Krieges, 1645, baute eine Vorhut der Schweden die erst 1640 geweihte Kirche eine Festung aus. Die noch heute „Reitschule“ genannten Sitzreihen erinnern an die Einstellung der Pferde. Um Poysdorf vor Plünderungen zu bewahren, lieferten die Poysdorfer 1000 Eimer Wein, Korn, Hafer, Lebensmittel, Wagen, Pferde und Schlachtvieh ab. Dafür erhielt der Markt den Schutzbrief „salva quardia“, die Bewohner blieben damit von Plünderungen verschont.

Vom Wohlstand der damaligen Zeit zeugt noch heute der 1883 entdeckte Poysdorfer Renaissancefund. Textilien, Hausrat und Bücher aus dem Eigentum vom Poysdorfer Bürger der Zeit um 1650.

1657 gestattet Kaiser Ferdiand III. den Poysdorfern ihr Wappen und Siegel, eine Darstellung, welche die Bedeutung des Weines für den Markt verdeutlichte: Die „Weinträger“ oder „Kundschafter“.

Der barocke Weinort an der Brünner Straße
Seit dem Mittelalter spielte der Weinbau für Poysdorf eine entscheidende Rolle. Er brachte dem Ort Wohlstand: Es entstanden Prestigebauten, wie das Bürgerspital (1657/1658), in dem Sie sich derzeit befinden, mit angeschlossener Barbarakapelle (1663/1664), die Schießstätte (1672) und das Kapuzinerkloster beim Wienertor (1677). Auch die Pestsäule am Dreifaltigkeitsplatz (1715) wurde von den Poysdorfer Bürgern und nicht von Adeligen gestiftet. Die vielen erhaltenen Kunstwerke zeugen vom Reichtum des Ortes in der Barockzeit.

Neben dem Weinbau war der Handel auf der Brünner Straße für den weiteren Aufstieg Poysdorfs verantwortlich. Die Brünner Straße verband nicht nur die Residenzstadt Wien mit Brünn, sondern war und ist eine Straße von europäischem Rang. Über sie verlief der Handel mit Mähren, Schlesien, Preußen, dem Baltikum und Russland.

Die Geschichte der „modernen“ Brünner Straße begann unter Kaiser Karl VI. 1729 mit einem generalstabsmäßigen Ausbau der Straße, auf der auch der Postverkehr abgewickelt wurde. Seit 1709 war Poysdorf Poststation. Auf der Brünner Straße reisten Kaiser, Könige und Fürsten, ebenso wie Bauern, fahrendes Volk, Bettler, Postillions, Händler und Soldaten. Neben Schmieden, Sattlern und Wagnern, die es in fast allen Orten entlang der Straße gab, waren die Einkehrgasthöfe die wichtigste Infrastruktur für die Reisenden.

Poysdorf in der Gründerzeit

Als 1848 in Wien die Revolution ausbrach wurde auch in Poysdorf eine Nationalgarde gegründet. Nach Niederschlagung der Revolution wurde Poysdorf in den Rang einer Bezirkshaupstadt erhoben, verlor aber schon 1852 diesen Status wieder an Mistelbach. Damals zählte Poysdorf 2.327 Einwohner und 382 Häuser auf einer Fläche von 11,85 km².

1866 wurde Poysdorf nach der Schlacht bei Königgrätz von 6.000 preussischen Soldaten besetzt. Die Cholera brach aus und forderte hunderte Tote, sowohl unter der Bevölkerung wie auch den Besatzungstruppen.

Ab 1888 war Poysdorf Haltestelle der Lokalbahn Enzersdorf bei Staatz-Poysdorf und ab 1907 auch von der Bahnstrecke Dobermannsdorf – Poysdorf. 1987 wurde die Bahnstation Poysdorf geschlossen. Um 1900 war der Markt Poysdorf das wohlhabende wirtschaftliche Zentrum der Region.

Poysdorf und die Archäologie

Schon in ur- und frühgeschichtlicher Zeit war das Weinviertel und ganz besonders die Gegend um Poysdorf überdurchschnittlich stark besiedelt. In Poysdorf und seiner Umgebung liegen bedeutende archäologische Grabungsplätze. Funde aus fast allen historischen Perioden seit der Jungsteinzeit belegen dies. Seit ca. 7.000 Jahren finden sich Besiedlungsspuren in der Umgebung der Stadt.

In Poysdorf gibt es seit 1920 archäologische Grabungen. Fast jährlich finden im Gebiet der gesamten Stadtgemeinde Ausgrabungen statt und fördern bedeutende Funde zu Tage. Die bedeutendsten Funde sind in der WEIN+TRAUBEN Welt ausgestellt.

Herausragend unter den vielen bedeutenden Funden aus Poysdorf ist ein Goldbrakteat aus einem Frauengrab des langobardischen Friedhofs. Das Original befindet sich im naturhistorischen Museum und hat einen Durchmesser von 2,5 bis 3 cm.

Pilgerstation am Jakobsweg

Poysdorf liegt am Jakobsweg Weinviertel, welcher vom Heiligen Berg in Mikulov/Tschechien über Drasenhofen, Mistelbach, Großrußbach und Stockerau bis nach Mautern an der Donau führt (162 km). Dort schließt er an den österreichischen Jakobsweg entlang der Donau und weiter an den europäischen Pilgerweg an. Ziel ist Santiago de Compostela in Spanien.

Poysdorf empfiehlt sich als Rast- und Einkehrstation, zudem bieten die Quartiere der Stadt Komfort nach einer langen Tagesroute.

Mehr Informationen über den Jakobsweg Weinviertel unter www.jakobsweg-weinviertel.at

X